Top 5 At The Moment

A music post after a long while is just what I need this week! I’ve decided to include a weekly set of entries called “Top 5 ATM” that features my top 5 songs ‘at the moment’ and I’ll be posting two entries per week with this—one completely anything-goes-under-the-sun entry and another top 5 ATM entry that would feature a weekly theme. This is an idea that I got from a Livejournal community (I forgot the name) I used to belong to during my Livejournal days and it was where everyone shared their top 5 songs at the moment and it was a good platform to discuss music and discover new favorites.

I think it would be a great way to introduce and rediscover music to everyone . I do encourage active participation and with that I mean commenting, recommended, asking questions or making suggestions 🙂 Besides, I really missed doing my random cathartic music-related posts and making playlists every now and then. I’m going to bring it back this year and hopefully be consistent about it.

1. Truth by Bloc Party

“You complete me/ Our kind is hard to find/ And if it will be/ It will be with you/ I am yours now”

Bloc Party is coming here in Manila on March 22 and I don’t have any money to buy tickets. Good lord, I feel like crying. This track is beyond gorgeous.  It’s clean, simple, intimate and just bleeds with human emotion. Check out their most recent album Four following an extended hiatus and it’s a great return for a great band. The album is dark, hard hitting with a fantastic flow of down-tuned sounds to an edgier variety of rhythm.  Keep up the good work lads!

2. Nothing Helps by ONE OK ROCK

“So caught up in my mind at night, not really sure who I am, but nothing to seems to go my way at all. Then I hit the stage to remember why I’m here: I’ll be the voice to those who don’t have words.”

There are no words to explain how much I fell in love with this song upon hearing it. Basically, the whole Deeper Deeper/ Nothing Helps single is GOLD and this song–how Taka sings it and the message of the band to their fans… I just can’t! *cries*

3. abnormalize by Rin Toshite Shigure

「誰にも見せられないもの 頭の中溢れて
間違いさえもない世界へ 迷い込んでる」
“My head is full of things that I can never tell anybody of,
I’ve gone lost in a world where not even mistakes exist.”

I love this song and I can’t seem to get it out of my head. I’m fairly new to them but they’re an incredibly brilliant post-hardcore band from the underground Japanese scene. Their masterful way of engineering  a surprising and dyanamic variety in their music is amazing. Case in point, this quirky song which I discovered from a new anime series I’m in love with: PSYCHO PASS. It’s quite a trippy disco rock track letting good guitar riffs fly and it sounds frantic, straight forward and catchy– just the way I like it. A lot of ferocious and meticulously constructed sound coming from just three people and I highly recommend you listen to their album Inspiration is DEAD.

4. The City by Madeon

“There is a place in the distance / A place that I’ve been dreaming of / No more time and space don’t exist there / We can dance like there’s no tomorrow”

A few recent musical discoveries made me realize my love for EDM and house music and one of them is 18-year-old French house sensation Madeon. Since discovering Madeon and ‘The City’ last year, I’ve been playing it nonstop and it became my default commuting song. Listening to it while trekking along the urban Ortigas made the streets come alive and everything else seem to become explosive. The track has a great feeling to it and I could only expect more great things from this young prodigy. Have a go with it with full on headphones for pop-house-disco awesomeness.

5. Look After You (The Fray cover) by Louis Tomlinson

“If I don’t say this now, I will surely break/ As I’m leaving the one I want to take/ Forgive the urgency, but hurry up and wait/ My heart has started to separate”

After the line up I just gave, no one was expecting this right?

For those of you who don’t know, Louis Tomlinson is the 1/5 of the biggest boy band of our generation: One Direction. I have to make a confession: they’re my musical guilty pleasure! Although I wouldn’t call myself a hardcore fan of these charming British boys but I do enjoy listening to their songs and practically had that moment with their songs similar to Olive singing to “A Pocketful of Sunshine” in the film Easy A. It’s not like I WANT to actually enjoy a boy band. But I find myself singing or humming their songs all of the time and no matter what I do, it just won’t stop. I admit I rarely listen to usual pop staples but there is something about One Direction that’s nostalgic and incredibly fresh at the same time. I do like catchy lyrics, bouncy beats, a little light heartedness and it’s undeniable that they can sing and surprisingly, they give very entertaining performances with a lot of heart.

I’m incredibly fond of Louis out of all the boys. His sharp-edged charm, hilarious and loud personality with that fantastic smile just won me over. Plus, I do love his singing voice and Louis (when he was only 16 years old, now he’s 21) doing a cover of one of my favorite songs ever just did it. I’m stopping myself before I make any more unnecessary, inappropriate, spastic outbursts of adoration for the boy but he did a wonderful job with this cover. We need more Louis solos in One Direction songs! The emotions Louis put in this cover you can clearly hear it in his voice. He sounds comfortable and he knows the message of the song so he knew the best way to deliver it was so make it sound so personal, lovelorn and tender. I’ve been listening to this the whole day yesterday and his voice just calms me down from all the stress I’ve been feeling lately. Excuse me while I melt here.

What are your Top 5 ATM and any musical guilty pleasures you’d like to share?

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “Top 5 At The Moment

  1. I like your taste in music and movies. We should become best friends. :))

Leave a Reply

