Neil Gaiman’s Advice on Living the Creative Life

“Sometimes life is hard. Things go wrong — and in life, and in love, and in business, and in friendship, and in health, and in all the other ways in which life can go wrong. And when things get tough, this is what you should do: Make good art. I’m serious. Husband runs off with a politician? Make good art. Leg crushed and then eaten by a mutated boa constrictor? Make good art. IRS on your trail? Make good art. Cat exploded? Make good art. Someone on the internet thinks what you’re doing is stupid, or evil, or it’s all been done before? Make good art.”

I’m so glad to have stumbled upon this a month ago and I never did get the chance to post it here and share. It’s a very inspirational and motivating speech of Neil Gaiman, one of the world’s most prolific writers, and addresses not only the young artists but anyone in an art field or who enjoys making art of any kind. Thanks for putting this online for the world to hear! It’s absolutely stellar and uplifting.

Pass it along!

I have to say college was a bit of a killer for what I used to do and I know in the depths of my heart, I didn’t want to be there and I just went with the flow because I was capable of doing so. There was a lot that took up my time, plenty of course reading to do that I didn’t have time to involve myself with activities of my own choosing at all except when I’m a home. I let THAT beat me and I let it happen. Then I would’ve said: I didn’t have a choice. But then I always had it but I didn’t know what to do with it. Honestly right now, I still have a wall. “Don’t ignore all the people you could know, shutting yourself up in a numb defensive vacuum. Your room is not your prison. You are.” like what Sylvia Plath said. I still feel I can’t stretch myself too thin and it’s surprisingly strange that I’m still having trouble getting used to what I LOVED and still LOVE to do. Something died in me along the way and I’m going to get it back.

“Go and make interesting mistakes, make amazing mistakes, make glorious and fantastic mistakes. Break rules. Leave the world more interesting for your being here. Make. Good. Art.” —Neil Gaiman

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a Reply

