Monday Love List

PYou have no idea how closely I wrapped myself around your heart.

Chronicle (2012) – P and I watched it the other day and we were just surprised how good it was. It’s a mockumentary film about teen superhero origins done just right. It has a very unique take on the idea of superpowers and what it could do to normal people like us– we wouldn’t even use it to save the world; we’d probably use it the same way the boys did in the film. It was very interesting and P and I we’re just raving about it. Definitely check it out if you haven’t seen it yet! Here’s the trailer:

Sisig Hooray’s Chicken Sisig in barkada size. P and I don’t care. We just love to EAT and this one in particular just makes us go:

Batshit crazy for it.

Tenkuu no Escaflowne (Vision of Escaflowne) anime marathons for that epic nostalgia wave of the late 90s. This is my third time watching the series and it still blew my mind the same way it did when I watched it for the first time many years ago. Definitely an anime classic and my OTP is still Hitomi and Van. Like what my friend said, awkward teenage romances for the win and Van is still just gorgeous. I still have the soft spot for his character after all this years!

♠ Zooey Deschanel is one of the few women I look up to. And I just found something: an interesting letter she wrote to Vogue when she was 17 and Vogue actually published it.

♠ Re-reading my copy of Brothers Grimm’s Complete Fairytales and realizing how I love them. It’s interesting that my particular favorites are definitely the stories with things Disney fairytales aren’t made of. But all of them have that recurring theme of senseless violent deaths, deals with the Devil, mayhem, madness and treachery. I’ll probably do an entry about my favorite tales one of these days.

♠ Beautiful paper dresses made from vintage maps! Source.

♠ I think this seemed really appropriate: Salvador Dali’s illustrations for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

♠ Finding out someone does the same weird things as you do.

A Lord of the Rings Valentines! These are definitely fun and it’s definitely nice to send them to your friends. My favorite is the Sauron and Aragorn one.

♠ Seeing someone read your favorite book.

♠ Watching Fight Club with P.

♠ When someone offers the rest of their food to you. I mean, who can resist that? HAHA!

♠ The movie Warrior (2011) which stars Joel Edgerton, Tom Hardy and Nick Nolte. I’ve never (on a regular basis) watched a sports themed action drama film and I have to thank P for letting me watch this one because it’s definitely a good place to start. I loved it more than I thought I would and ended up shedding a few tears near the end of the film. The whole plot was good and there was a lot of thought provoking and moving instances in the stories of the 3 men. For a film industry that doesn’t get into movies dealing with sports that much, I thought this would be an exceptional addition to that genre. The actors were excellent in their roles and were able to deliver a fantastic performance in a film which I thought was gripping and intense. A must watch especially for you fans of mixed martial arts and UFC.

Leave a comment

Filed under Love List

Leave a Reply

