Bum, Abramovic, Game of Thrones, Randomness

The past week has been a bit stressful but I’m doing pretty well actually. I haven’t filed for my PRC application for the upcoming NLE but I’ll get to that eventually. There’s not much to do here although I’m enjoying my little time of a structure-free extended vacation and it definitely feels like a moment of repose where you turn away from the world even for a bit.

+++

Today I sound like a remix of an Evangelion track—new wave, something a little ambient with pulsating beats thrown in, a sonic experience and strobe and colored lights blur into haze. A little bit of science fiction and outer space, distant but also welcoming.

+++

My friend introduced me to Marina Abramovic a few days ago and she’s earned the right to be a rockstar artist, methinks. Although I am familiar essentially with performance art, the name Marina Abramovic is new to me but later I found that Abramovic defined a large part what we came to know as “performance art”. Using her body as her primary subject and medium, she has stretched the physical and mental limits of it to explore its capacity. Her body became an instrument of communication and energy transmission thus creating several performances of personal resilience and energy. Her performances have a transformative effect on her audience and reflect the quest for emotional and spiritual transformation.

I’ve been recently acquainted with her work but I can’t say yet I can fully wrap my brain around it. But what she does takes me aback—I guess that’s what ‘body art’ means and it’s definitely confronting for me even just by looking at some videos of her performance. It takes the viewing to another level because precisely not just the artist but the audience is included within her work.

+++

(SPOILER WARNING)

GAME OF THRONES. Fuck you, what have you done to me? I should really be reviewing all the normal values of sodium, potassium, white blood cells, RBCs and all those the known particles in the body that would give me a sort of leverage for the upcoming NLE this December but SEVEN HELLS! You’d find me gushing over my biggest fandom yet since Castianity was established by an angel in a trench coat.

I’m terribly excited for the appearance of the Greyjoy characters in season 2. Theon Greyjoy’s introduction in the first book gave me an impression that he might actually be a bad boy (‘with a wry look of contempt in his face…’) and further gave subtle hints of his proud, impulsive character and penchant for bloodlust. In the second book, which I’ve yet to buy, we are given now chapters of Theon’s POV that also offers us a glimpse of House Greyjoy and its head the ruthless Balon Greyjoy, his father. I think with the introduction of Balon, things are going to get interesting for Theon: Theon was the Stark’s ward for years, whisked off from his homeland the Iron Islands and with his return, Balon enters the war as a potential sovereign to the Starks and this leaves Theon with conflicted loyalties.

I am the Greyjoy, Lord Reaper of Pyke, King of Salt and Rock, Son of the Sea Wind, and no man gives me a crown. I pay the iron price. I will take my crown, as Urron Redhand did five thousand years ago.Balon Greyjoy

Patrick Malahide as Balon Greyjoy in season 2 of Game of Thrones

And of course there’s Asha Greyjoy, Theon’s sister who’s actually more of an experienced warrior than her brother. She is after all the Kraken’s Daughter and she has a ship of her own! For the next book and season, she’ll be the first female warrior we’re going to be seeing when shit goes down in Westeros.

Meet the new faces of Game of Thrones Season 2 over here!

A Cersei Lannister Mix here!

I should stop now and really, really should go out and get my PRC requirements done. And to avoid touching fan girl ground, for now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Game of Thrones, Love List

Leave a Reply

