Harder, Faster, Forever, After

Placebo is the soundtrack of my last year in high school and pretty much up until my first year as a medical technologist to my second year in nursing school. Pretty much a lot of bad decisions for great stories, almost always never self-sufficient then and those were the days when rest was for the weak and you’re dynamite for a few days. You feel how love rushed in your lungs, roaming inside your body and it was electric, and because it wasn’t the right kind of love and it burns you deep and drills holes through your skin when you feel just you’re tough enough.

Placebo was the soundtrack when you’re adventure in skin and a silent observer of this incredible, unbelievable, tragic world. I miss listening to Placebo and apparently I am growing very uncomfortable at the staleness of a routine/lack-of-routine life, hence a little backtrack on raw, spiky, driven, alternative and sometimes glam rock that Placebo brought.

They’re post-punk, they flirt with the idea of androgyny, wave the banner for anti-romanticism, combining influences from Bowie, Garbage and The Smashing Pumpkins (which I all love), and they offered dark moody songs with shift in dynamics and style. There were a lot of abrasive guitar riffs, seething alternating anguish and ambivalence and they’re just anything I haven’t heard before. And this distinctness puts them in my top list of music that sends me to a flurry of nostalgia. God bless the Placebo Effect.

It’s in the water,baby. It’s in the pills that bring you down
It’s in the water,baby. It’s in your bag of golden brown
It’s in the water,baby. It’s in your frequency
It’s in the water,baby. It’s between you and me

Post Blue by Placebo

I’ll describe the way I feel
You’re my new Achilles heel
Can this savior be for real
Or are you just my seventh seal?

Special K by Placebo

Sucker love is heaven sent.
You pucker up, our passion’s spent.
My hearts a tart, your body’s rent.
My body’s broken, yours is bent.
Carve your name into my arm.
Instead of stressed, I lie here charmed.”

He tries to impress her, mentally undress her
it takes more to possess her
but in his pocket lies a hole
he’s got a thousand talents
charisma by the bagful
aristocratic parents
a rebel with a heart of gold

Flesh Mechanic

A friend in needs a friend indeed, a friend who’ll tease is better.

Our thoughts compressed,which makes us blessed

And makes for stormy weather.

A friend in needs a friend indeed, my Japanese is better.

And when she’s pressed she will undress, And then she’s boxing clever”

PureMorning

Meds

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

