R’s Childhood: Hergé’s The Adventures of Tintin

Tintin was one of the big childhood heroes of mine and now that a movie’s coming up, I think it would be appropriate to do a little backtrack on Tintin.

Whether he’s trolling the high seas for treasure or blasting off for the moon, young reporter-sleuth Tintin and his faithful dog, Snowy, have delighted readers of all ages everywhere for generations with their timeless adventures. I didn’t have the luxury to be provided with the comic books (which I just found much later in my childhood) but I had much of my Titin dosage through a now defunct i-Channel.

For wee R (who was 6-8 years old at the time but good things like Tintin stay in your memory vividly), he was my hero– a mythical figure whose tasks were to cope with the perils and challenges of the modern world. Next to Tintin appeared Captain Haddock and then Professor Calculus and together their exploits took place all over the world. He was an important educational figure as well. With Tintin, I developed a knack to writing and the English language (both spoken & written and I learned the word “Barnacle” for the first time courtesy of Capt. Haddock). And most importantly, like Tintin I wanted to be an explorer of the world. Together with Tinin, I discovered the world and developed a taste for adventure.

One of my favorite Tintin episodes: Tintin and the Prisoner of the Sun God

Tintin as a role model also taught indespensible things which you adapt by watching him every single day during the mornings and reruns in the late afternoons. It’s serious stuff when you learn about generosity, daringness(which Tintin embodies well), tolerance, openess (featuring various cultures in every episode) and the need to understand and explain things. It’s probably the greatest masterpieces of our time for children. They don’t make cartoons this good like this anymore.

Earth below us, drifting falling, floating weighless, calling, calling, home! This episode is also awesome and I always wondered how did Thompson and Thompson sneaked it HAHA!

Leave a comment

Filed under Childhood

Leave a Reply

